

Hydro Place. 500 Columbus Drive. P.O. Box 12400. St. John's. NL Canada A1B 4K7 t. 709.737.1400 f. 709.737.1800 www.nlh.nl.ca

June 10, 2020

Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities Prince Charles Building 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040 St. John's, NL A1A 5B2

Attention: Ms. Cheryl Blundon Director of Corporate Services & Board Secretary

Dear Ms. Blundon:

# Re: Newfoundland Power's Application for Approval to Issue a One-Time Bill Credit to Newfoundland Power Customers in accordance with Order in Council OC2020-081 – Hydro's Comments

On June 1, 2020 Newfoundland Power filed an Application with the Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities ("Board") pursuant to sections 58, 70 (1), and 71 of the *Public Utilities Act* requesting the following: (i) suspension of the operation of the Rate Stabilization Clause in respect to the inclusion of a revised Rate Stabilization Adjustment in the rates to be charged by Newfoundland Power for the period July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021; (ii) suspension of the operation of the Municipal Tax Clause in respect of the inclusion of a recalculated Municipal Tax Adjustment ("MTA") factor in the rates to be charged by Newfoundland Power for the period July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021; (iii) a one-time bill credit fund; (iv) a one-time customer bill credit plan; and (v) an amendment of the Rate Stabilization Clause.

## Hydro's Comments

Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro ("Hydro") believes that Newfoundland Power's application complies with the directives provided in Order in Council OC2020-081 and reasonably balances the regulatory principles of fairness and administrative practicality in the provision of the customer credit. Therefore, Hydro supports this application.

Should you have any questions, please contact the undersigned.

Yours truly,

## NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR HYDRO

Shirley A. Walsh Senior Legal Counsel, Regulatory SAW/kd

ecc: **Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities** Jacqui Glynn PUB Official Email

#### Newfoundland Power

Gerard M. Hayes Kelly C. Hopkins Regulatory Email

#### **Consumer Advocate**

Dennis M. Browne, Q.C, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Stephen F. Fitzgerald, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Sarah G. Fitzgerald, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Bernice Bailey, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis